It’s a wrap

So what did I learn about Paris and about myself re: Paris?

Well, I could definitely live there.  I felt completely comfortable there, even with my limited French. After walking 180 miles of the streets of Paris, I even know my way around quite well. Once you learn the main streets, it’s easy. And Paris is smaller than one would think.

I don’t think I ever will live there for an extended period of time, though, because I don’t think Michael would be very happy there. He would miss too many of the things he loves: hockey, home, his couch, his friends, etc. But he did inform me very sweetly that he’d live there if I wanted to. He warned me, though, that he’d have to get a motorcycle, “two wheels,” he said.

I loved the food of Paris, of course, but if I lived there I’d definitely cook at home often. French food is just so very rich, and after awhile, I didn’t really want to eat it anymore. It’s been nice being home and taking a break from it.

Where would I live? I actually preferred the grittier 2nd arrondissement to the fancier 6th.  So I’d probably opt for a less chic address.

Now, there’s the issue of getting a job there. Ha! I haven’t even looked.

But my experiment of living there for 5 weeks did accomplish its mission. I feel I could happily live and work in Paris.

 

Leave a comment