To Do: Check the To Do List

While it’s been awhile since I’ve written a post, I’ve been busily checking off items on my to-do list. In the last month, I’ve:

  • Planned a December trip to Provence
  • Taken walking tours of Graceland and Rosehill cemeteries
  • Gotten the Sweet Pea Records web site 90% of the way there. (Just waiting for band bios)
  • Finished the upstairs room rehab and made plans for a new floor up there
  • Been super social, saying yes to all invitations
  • Gardened
  • Touched base with my mentees
  • Made headway on AFPP and Network things
  • Finished another Chi Omega newsletter
  • Got new light fixtures/ceiling fans for downstairs
  • Took a Flavor Dynamics class at Chopping Block
  • Joined the Architecture Foundation and Chicago Shakespeare Theatre
  • Saw a Backroom Shakespeare production

This month, I’d like to return to Code Academy and finish that. I also thought it would be fun to return to my original To Do list, the one I made in November as I finished work. I was gratifying to see that I’d accomplished many things on that list.  So that’s good.

Here are the things still left on that list:

  • Read all of Scott’s So Social columns
  • Read Flawless Consulting
  • Built janehirt.com web site
  • Exercise every day, uhhhhh (Though I have started yoga again)
  • Go room to room, paint, fix, declutter
  • Learn Chinese
  • Volunteer at Blind Services Assoc.
  • Watch Star Wars movies with Michael
  • Get new headshot (Kring)

Now that I’ve relaxed into my new routine, I feel like I’m entering a phase where I’d like to finish up everything on my To Do list … and then possibly look for a job around the first of the year. I’m not in a huge hurry to do this, but I know that I like to be busy, and as my stockpiled list of things dwindles, I’ll be looking for more.

I’ve gotten plenty of job queries over the last few months. Some in legacy media, some in PR, some for consulting, but nothing interesting enough yet.

One thing I thought would be interesting to do would be to create a Break Resume for this year, one that details the things I’ve done on my Radical Sabbatical. Here are the beginnings of it.

JaneBreakResume

Leave a comment